The Equal Rights Blog Hop!

equalrightbloghop

Equal Rights – we should all have them, but we don’t.

In history we have seen time and time again, humans repeating the same basic, fundamental mistakes. Where a minority is over looked, discriminated against and even abused. Many years later a new generation will come along, appalled by the older generations actions, and yet they are so quick to do the same.

This blog hop asks the question: What does being a part of the GLBT communtiy mean to me?

For me it means not turning a blind eye. I may only be a straight woman who writes MM, but that doesn’t give me the right to do so.

Turning a blind eye is just as detrimental. I see people I love fighting to be acknowledged as human beings, I see them terrified of what might happen to their family and the person they love – just as much as I love my own husband – should something happen to them.

I was horrified when I received a phone call from a devastated friend. His partner had ended up in hospital, and yet he only found out because he works in that very hospital, and another staff member told him in passing. When he asked why he wasn’t informed straight away, a nurse who worked with them responded with a laugh, “Why would we? We only notify family, it’s not like you guys are serious.”

Appallingly, her reply was not because they were a new couple. No. My friend and the man he loves have been together for a little over six years now, living together, and very open about their relationship.

It breaks my heart, and makes me furious that we as people seem to be unable to learn from our mistakes.

As an Australian, I feel frustrated and ashamed when I see places like New Zealand and the US taking strides to learn and grow, yet my own country is embarrassingly unwilling to do so.

I hope one day my children and grandchildren will be ashamed that it was even questioned for a person to have basic human rights. Because when that day comes, I will be there with people I hold most dear, and I’ll cheer when we are no longer making history, but just doing what is right.

In support of Equal Rights, I am giving away a copy of any of my previously released books. To enter all you need to do is is leave your name, email and answer the following question.

What is the most inspirational quote on equality you have ever heard or read?

Don’t forget to check out the other blogs participating, and to enter in for the Grand Prize, by clicking on the image below!

equalrightbloghop

16 thoughts on “The Equal Rights Blog Hop!

  1. “The pressures on gay teens can be overwhelming–to keep secrets, tell lies, deny who you are, and try to be who you’re not. Remember: you are special and worth being cared about, loved, and accepted just as you are. Never, ever let anyone convince you otherwise.”
    ― Alex Sanchez

    I like this one.
    debby236 at gmail dot com

  2. It’s not a quote about equality, specifically, though it often comes to mind as I ponder the struggle: Hope has two daughters, Anger and Courage. They are both lovely. (St. Augustine)

  3. I’m surprised to hear that about Australia…I’ve always been very impressed by the articles in DNA magazine about gay rights issues, so I figured it was always part of the equation there. I like Frances Wright’s “Equality is the soul of liberty; there is, in fact, no liberty without it.”

    vitajex(at)aol(Dot)com

  4. I don’t know if it’s about equality but this is about struggle and fight and how we are all in it and doing it, no matter how small and insignificant we are. It always makes me teary when reading or listening to it. It’s Samwise Gamgee’s speech in The Two Towers.

    “I know. It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.”

  5. I’ve always loved this quote by W.H. Auden.

    “If equal affection cannot be, Let the more loving one be me.”

    humhumbum AT yahoo DOT com

  6. I honestly can’t give you a quote because I’m not good at remembering stuff like that. My abilities are more geared toward remembering sensory input rather than standard memorization 🙂

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. I really don’t remember very many quotes & can’t think of one dealing with freedom. I will leave a quote that has meaning for me when my children are struggling with their autism

    “Every time you get up & get back in the race, one more small piece of you starts to fall into place” Rascal Flatts – Stand

    Wolphcall(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  8. Loved your post and I felt so bad for your friend. I really don’t know any quotes.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  9. What a horrible story about your friend. I read stories like that, and they seem unreal. I can’t understand that mindset, and I hope I never do.

    A favorite quote comes from the great man himself, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr,:
    “Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.”

    Thank you for sharing with all of us.

  10. I’m not sure if this counts as a quote or not, but there’s a Garth Brooks song called “We Shall Be Free,” with a crucial line about how we won’t really be free until we’re free to love anyone we choose. Thank you for your blog post and for participating in the hop!

  11. I’m surprised to hear about Australia–really. My own country embarrasses and shames me so often I tend to think of the entire world being more tolerant and progressive than we are. 😉

    My favorite quote at the moment: “We, gays, can get married in Canada. We let heterosexuals too, but that was a huge thing, we had to have a referendum and a vote, it’s crazy! But then we were like, if they want to get married.. that’s cool. That’s gonna destroy their relationships, but.. Heterosexuals deserve the same rights as homosexuals.”
    ― Tegan Quin

    Because how ridiculous it sounds when you flip it like that.

    akasarahmadison[at]gmail[dot]com

  12. I like the quote by Teddy Roosevelt. “No man is above the law, and no man is below it.” It is so true. Everyone deserves equal protections under the law, no matter what.
    Thanks for sharing.

  13. Well, it’s not exactly a quote about equality, but I love the poem Invictus. It inspired Nelson Mandela, one of the greatest men who’s ever lived. He fought for equality and still does to this day. He’s a huge inspiration to me, as is the poem.

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  14. I don’t really know any quotes off the top of my head, but I’m loving reading all the ones others are posting.

    carolcobun @ yahoo .com

Leave a Reply

