Monday Menagerie: Michelle Graham

Today I’d like everyone to welcome the very talented Michelle Graham to my blog. Michelle has kindly agreed to appear on my Monday Menagerie post to tell us a little bit about herself, her series Hedon Falls, and the latest installment Training The Help.

mg-hf-trainingthehelp3

Author Interview

  • Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m 38, married with two kids, a full-time job, and I love reading and writing. I’m finding it a bit challenging to balance all those areas of my life, but I’m trying!

  • What was the last book you wrote?

My book Training the Help is the last full book I wrote and it is being released on April 27th. It’s the third book in my Hedon Falls Series. I am in the process of working on the next two books in the series.

  • What made you start writing?

I’ve always loved writing, from a very young age. I had always thought it would be really neat to be an author, but I ended up going for the practical goals and a good career. But I never forgot the writing. I tried a few times over the years to get into it, and I could never find the time or the energy. Then last year I jumped on the FSoG bandwagon and discovered erotic romance. In my search for more steamy reads, I discovered Siren and some really wonderful writers. One day on the website, I saw the submissions tab and saw that submitting was a fairly straightforward process, so I decided to go for it. I actually finished my first book, submitted, and was totally shocked when I got the acceptance. It’s really a dream come true.

  • Is there a type of genre you prefer writing, and why?

I love happy endings and I think that’s why romance really speaks to me. Even when I’m dabbling in other genres, there’s always an element of romance. But I love the erotic romance because it’s so hot! I love the graphic sex and explicit language, both for reading and writing.

  • Do you have a favourite book or character?

That is a very tough question! I read so much and have discovered so many authors that to pick just one character or book is tough. I think I would have to go with Rachel Morgan from Kim Harrison’s series The Hollows. She’s smart, independent, and can kick some serious ass, but she still has those moments where she’s unsure of herself or needs to rely on others for help.

  • What is the best moment you have experienced, being an author?

I think the best moment was getting a message from a reader who felt inspired to pursue one of her life’s goals because of something she’d read in my books. It was very humbling, but a great feeling to know that something I’d done had made someone else’s life better.

  • Where do you get most of your ideas?

My ideas come from strange places! For Landing the Big Ones my inspiration came from my own experiences setting up an aquarium and discovering that fish are not the easy pets I had thought they’d be! The Art of Love was inspired by an old building in my town which was being renovated for a restaurant, but still managed to maintain that old feeling, and an artist whose work I particularly like. Training the Help is about a couple who love each other, but find that there is something they each are missing in their relationship, which is a theme I’ve seen many times on TV and Movies and the idea just evolved. I find that something might pop into my head out of the blue, a ‘what if’ question, and from there I start spinning out all kinds of scenarios.

  • Beverage you can’t live without when writing?

COFFEE!!

Now for the really good part…

BLURB ~

Unemployed and running out of resources, Sophie LaPlante is desperate for a job, when the perfect one appears before her. A wealthy couple from Hedon Falls requires a live-in housekeeper, and Sophie is just what they’re looking for.mg-hf-trainingthehelp3

Jack Sullivan, a powerful CEO and Dom, is married to actress Kendra Hughes.  He immediately senses submissive tendencies in his new housekeeper. His wife can never be the sub he needs, so while Kendra is away on a film shoot, he begins to train Sophie. When Kendra returns, she joins the training to explore her own Dominant desires. While their sessions were not intended to involve sex, they find themselves fighting a losing battle against their mutual attraction.

The three of them are caught up in a web of lust, guilt, and infidelity, all complicatedbuy by an ex-boyfriend who can’t leave Sophie alone.

 

Michelle’s Links:

Website: http://michellegrahameroticromance.blogspot.com.au/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/michelle.graham.562114

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MichelleGAuthor

Leave a Reply

